Your browser does not support JavaScript

Writing groups provide an opportunity for faculty and students to engage in a collaborative experience in which students learn from one another as well as their professor. The list of professors offering writing groups and topics available in the Spring Term 2021 are listed below.  Students interested in joining a writing group should discuss their paper topics in advance with the professor offering the group most closely related to their writing topic and then register by submitting a completed written work form to the Registrar’s Office for written work projects as they would in the ordinary course. After paper topics are approved, enrollment into the writing group class component will be on a by-permission basis. The meeting schedule for each writing group will be determined after enrollment is finalized.

Students writing 2 or 3-credit papers are eligible for writing groups. The classroom credit for each writing group will be graded credit/fail. Writing credits will be graded in the manner traditional for written work. Students participating in writing groups can elect to enroll in the associated writing credits in the Winter Term or the Spring Term.  J.D. students may use the final paper to qualify as Option 1 writing which satisfies the J.D. written work requirement towards their degree.

The add/drop deadline for spring term is Friday, January 29. Although the deadline to submit spring written work proposals is Friday, February 12th, students are expected to commit to the Writing Group, have their faculty member’s permission to join, and communicate both to the Registrar’s Office by the add/drop deadline. Proposals for written work, including for students enrolled in writing groups, may be submitted up using the written work forms for your respective degree program up until the February 12th.

Spring 2021 Writing Group Offerings

Spring 2021 Writing Group Offerings

Faculty Name Email Topic
William Alford alford@law.harvard.edu Comparative Law and International Law: Projects Concerning Asia
Nikolas Bowie nbowie@law.harvard.edu Critical Legal History and the Constitution
Maureen Brady mbrady@law.harvard.edu Property, Land Use, and Local Government Law
Thomas J. Brennan tbrennan@law.harvard.edu Taxation
Scott Brewer sbrewer@law.harvard.edu Topics in Jurisprudence, Philosophy of Law, Contract Law, Evidence, Logic and Law (including Artificial Intelligence in Law)
I. Glenn Cohen igcohen@law.harvard.edu Health Law/Law and the Biosciences
William W. Fisher tfisher@law.harvard.edu Intellectual Property: Copyright, Patent, or Trademark Law
Urs Gasser ugasser@law.harvard.edu Technology and Law
Jacob E. Gersen jgersen@law.harvard.edu Remedies in Public and Private Law
Jeannie Suk Gersen jsg@law.harvard.edu Topics in Criminal Law, Due Process, Equal Protection, Family Law, Sexual Harassment, Sexuality, Title IX
Tyler Giannini giannini@law.harvard.edu Human Rights
Jon D. Hanson hanson@law.harvard.edu Justice (encouraging research and writing that would help clarify the meaning of “justice”)
Howell E. Jackson hjackson@law.harvard.edu Topics in Financial Regulation, Federal Budget Policy, Consumer Financial Protection, Securities Regulation, International Finance
Elizabeth Papp Kamali ekamali@law.harvard.edu Legal History
Naz K. Modirzadeh nmodirzadeh@law.harvard.edu Public International Law; International Law and Armed Conflict; International Law and War
Charles R. Nesson nesson@law.harvard.edu Trials
Ruth L. Okediji rokediji@law.harvard.edu Intellectual Property, Artificial Intelligence and the Law
Rebecca Tushnet rtushnet@law.harvard.edu Intellectual Property
Laura Weinrib lweinrib@law.harvard.edu Free Speech