Your browser does not support JavaScript

Netta Barak-Corren

Netta Barak-Corren

S.J.D. 2016

Founder, Harvard’s Empirical Legal Studies group

nbarakcorren at


“A Behavioral and Empirical Study of Normative Conflicts between Law and Religion”

Fields of Research and Supervisors

  • Behavioral Analysis of Public Law with Professor Cass R. Sunstein, Harvard Law School, Overall Faculty Supervisor
  • Conflict and Reconciliation Between Law and Religion with Dean Martha L. Minow, Harvard Law School
  • Psychology of Legal Behavior with Professor Tom Tyler, Yale Law School

Additional Research Interests

  • Moral, Social, and Cognitive Psychology
  • Empirical Legal Studies
  • Employment Law
  • Legal Theory


  • Harvard Law School, S.J.D. Candidate, 2013 – Present
  • Harvard Law School, LL.M., 2013
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, LL.B./B.A, Law & Cognitive Science, 2011

Academic Appointments and Fellowships

  • Harvard University, 2014-2015, The Sinclair Kennedy Traveling Fellowship
  • Harvard Law School, 2014, Program on Negotiations, Next Generation Grant
  • Harvard Business School, 2013-2014, The Behavioral Insights Group
  • Harvard Law School, 2013-2014, Graduate Program Fellow, Workshop for Short Writing Projects Co-Coordinator
  • Harvard Law School, 2013-2014, Program on the Legal Profession, Empirical Research Grant
  • Harvard Law School, 2013, Summer Academic Fellow
  • Harvard Law School, 2012-2013, Gammon Fellow & Shapiro Scholar

Representative Publications

  • N. Barak-Corren, C.J. Tsay, F. Cushman, & M. Bazerman, “If you’re going to do wrong, at least do it right: Reconciling moral concerns under joint evaluation”, in prep
  • N. Barak-Corren, E. Glozman, & I. Yaniv, “False negotiations: the art & science of not reaching an agreement”, Journal of Conflict Resolution (forthcoming, 2014). The 2013 Howard Raiffa Doctoral Student Paper Award.
  • N. Barak-Corren, “Property rights and workers rights: protecting the wage of independent workers” 973 Mishpatim 42(3), [in Hebrew]. The 2011 M. Goldberg Award.

Last Updated: May 12, 2015