Your browser does not support JavaScript

Welcome to the Harvard Law School Graduate Program. This handbook contains important information on academic requirements, Graduate Program policies, financial matters and general Law School information. Please retain this booklet for reference throughout the year. This handbook incorporates the Harvard Law School Handbook of Academic Policies 2016-2017 by reference as though fully set forth herein.

The Graduate Program is the division of Harvard Law School responsible for the Master of Laws (LL.M.) and the Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.) degrees, and for various aspects of graduate legal studies, including the Visiting Scholar and Visiting Researcher program. A centerpiece of Harvard Law School’s internationalization of its student body, faculty, and curriculum, members of the Graduate Program constitute a vibrant academic community noted for its diversity of interests and backgrounds.

Through our degree programs, we are training the next generation of leaders in academia, private practice, government, and non-profit and non-governmental organizations worldwide.

In our other activities, and in conjunction with International Legal Studies, we promote awareness of foreign law and legal systems among faculty, students, and alumni, both at the Law School and elsewhere at Harvard University.

Administration

FACULTY DIRECTOR
Professor William Alford
Vice Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies
Director, East Asian Legal Studies Program
Chair, Harvard Law School Project on Disability
Austin 309, (617) 495-4693
alford@law.harvard.edu

ADMINISTRATORS
Ms. Jeanne Tai
Assistant Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 496-4849
jtai@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Catherine Peshkin
Director, Admissions and Financial Aid
WCC 5005, (617) 496-4227
cpeshkin@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Nancy Pinn
Director, Administration and Student Affairs
WCC 5005, (617) 384-8302
npinn@law.harvard.edu

Dr. Jane Fair Bestor
Special Assistant to the Graduate Program
WCC 5005, (617) 384-9537
jbestor@law.harvard.edu

Mr. James Bowers
Assistant Director, Admissions and Financial Aid
WCC 5005, (617) 495-3060
jbowers@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Sara Zucker
Director, International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 495-9030
szucker@law.harvard.edu

Mr. Andre Barbic
Program Officer, International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8732
abarbic@law.harvard.edu

Staff

Ms. Emma Johnson
Staff Assistant to Professor Alford
Austin 309, (617) 495-4627
johnson@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Melissa Bergsten
Admissions and Financial Aid Coordinator
WCC 5005, (617) 384-7522
mbergsten@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Aubrey Leas
Admissions and Financial Aid Coordinator
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8799
aleas@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Caitlin Parmelee
Administrative Coordinator and LL.M. Program Assistant
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8210
cparmelee@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Naomi Schaffer
Administrative Coordinator and S.J.D. Program Assistant
WCC 5005, (617) 496-2873
nschaffer@law.harvard.edu

Graduate Program Fellows

The Graduate Program Fellows coordinate a variety of academic programs and colloquia, which are presented throughout the year. They also conduct course counseling and academic advising for LL.M. students. The current Graduate Program Fellows for the academic year 2016-2017 are listed below. Others may be added over the course of the year.

Byse Fellows
Deval Desai
Mohammad Hamdy
Konstantin Tretyakov

Teaching Assistants, LL.M. Writers’ Workshop
Afroditi Giovanopoulou
Malcom Lavoie
Valentina Montoya Robledo
Joanna Noronha
Priyasha Saksena
Pieter-Augustijn Van Malleghem
Yueh-Ping Yang

Coordinators, Workshop for Short Writing Projects
Opeyemi Akande
Yu Luo
Gustavo Ribeiro

LL.M. Advisors
Kwabena Oteng Acheampong
Samuel Beswick
Beatriz Botero Arcila
Elena Chachko
Il-Young Jung
Oren Tamir
Kibrom Teweldebirhan
Marzieh Tofighi Darien
Konstantin Tretyakov
Dan Zhou

Graduate Forum Coordinators
Zahra Aboutalebi
Doaa Abu Elyounes

Teaching Assistants, Legal Research, Writing and Analysis
Samuel Beswick
Jessica Eisen
Priyasha Saksensa
Erum Sattar

Visiting Scholar/Visiting Researcher Colloquium Coordinators
Xiaoqian Hu
Carolina Silva-Portero

Committee on Graduate Students

The Committee on Graduate Studies is responsible for academic policy and admissions for the Graduate Program. The Committee also oversees the application of program policies and regulations in consultation with the program administrators and staff. The members of the 2016-2017 Committee on Graduate Studies will be appointed in September.