A number of Harvard Law students received special awards during the 2013 Class Day exercises on May 29. The honored students were recognized for their outstanding leadership, citizenship, compassion and dedication to their studies and the profession.

The William J. Stuntz Memorial Award for Justice, Human Dignity and Compassion

The Stuntz award was presented to Jessica Levin. The award recognizes a graduating student who has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to the principles of justice, human dignity and compassion while at Harvard Law School.
The award is given in honor of the late William Stuntz, a renowned scholar of criminal justice at Harvard Law School, an evangelical Christian and a teacher much beloved by students and colleagues. Levin is the third person to receive this honor since it was established 2011.

Lena M. Silver ’13

Andrew L. Kaufman Pro Bono Service Award

This year’s Andrew L. Kaufman Pro Bono Service Award was presented to Lena M. Silver. Silver was recognized for performing the highest number of pro bono service hours in the Class of 2013. During her time at Harvard Law School, Silver provided over 2,270 hours of free legal services.

Tracy L. Branding ’13

The Frank Righeimer, Jr. Prize for Student Citizenship

The Righeimer Prize was presented to Tracy L. Branding. Established in memory of Frank S. Righeimer, Jr. ’32, the prize is awarded annually to a graduating student to recognize exceptional citizenship.

Dylan A. Stern ’13

The David Westfall Memorial Award

The Westfall Award was presented to Dylan A. Stern. Named in honor of the late Professor David Westfall, who taught at HLS for more than 50 years, the award is presented annually to recognize student contributions to creating community within the first-year section and class.

The Dean’s Award for Community Leadership

The Dean’s Award recognizes a number of graduating students who have contributed time and energy to making the HLS community a better place through involvement in student organizations, community service groups, and individual efforts. This year’s winners were:

• J. Joel Alicea
• Jennifer Wai Yin Chan
• Stephanie Elaine Davidson
• Daniel Doktori
• Charlotte Emin
• Emma Lerner Freeman
• Ian Michael Gore
• Michael Grant Jacobson
• Lillian Mason Langford
• Jillian Nicole London
• Megan P. McDermott
• Teresa Ann Napoli
• Patrick Mason Ragen
• Desta Plaetz Reff
• Rochelle-Leigh Joy Rosenberg
• Paul James Sullivan
• David Michael Tonks Turner
• Justin Cooper Wiley