On Saturday, October 10, 2009, Professors Mark Roe ’75 and Michael Klarman were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. This year the academy, an honorary society of scholars and an independent policy research center, selected 210 new members for “pre-eminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.”

Roe, the David Berg Professor of Law and an expert in corporate law and bankruptcy issues, joined the HLS faculty in 2001. He is the author of numerous books, including “Bankruptcy and Corporate Reorganization: Legal and Financial Materials” and “Political Determinants of Corporate Governance.” He is also an editor of the casebooks “Corporate Governance: Political and Legal Perspectives” and “Convergence and Persistence in Corporate Governance.”

Klarman joined the faculty in 2008 and writes about constitutional law and history, with a focus on race. He is the author of more than 30 articles and several books, including “From Jim Crow to Civil Rights: The Supreme Court and the Struggle for Racial Equality,” which won the prestigious Bancroft Prize in 2005. His most recent book is “Unfinished Business: Racial Equality in American History.”

Also elected to the academy were John Donohue III ’77, a Yale Law School professor, and Theodor Meron LL.M. ’55 S.J.D. ’57, a judge on the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.

Other members of the HLS faculty who have been inducted in previous years include Lucian Bebchuk LL.M. ’80 S.J.D. ’84, Victor Brudney, Robert Clark ’72, Richard Fallon, Roger Fisher LL.B. ’48, Charles Fried, Mary Ann Glendon, Charles Haar LL.B. ’48, Morton Horwitz LL.B. ’67, Dean Elena Kagan ’86, Benjamin Kaplan, Louis Kaplow ’81, Duncan Kennedy, Randall Kennedy, Daniel Meltzer ’75, Frank Michelman LL.B. ’60, Martha Minow, Robert Mnookin LL.B. ’68, Steven Shavell, William Stuntz Cass Sunstein ’78, Laurence Tribe ’66, Mark Tushnet, Roberto Mangabeira Unger LL.M. ’70 S.J.D. ’76 and Elizabeth Warren.