Post Date: December 1, 2005

At a November ceremony in Philadelphia, the American Philosophical Society awarded Professor Frank Michelman its Henry M. Phillips Prize in Jurispudence. The prize has only been given 20 times in more than a century, and honors significant contributions to the field of jurisprudence.

An expert in consitutional law and property, Michelman has been a member of the Harvard Law faculty since 1963. He is currently one of only 17 “University Professors” at Harvard.

The American Philosophical Society began awarding medals in 1790. Since then, it has continued by awarding medals and prizes for outstanding achievement in the sciences, humanities, arts, professions, and public service. The Henry M. Phillips Prize was first awarded in 1895. Currently the Society makes 10 annual or semiannual awards.

Click here to see a list of past Phillips Prize recipients.