Harvard Law School graduates continue a long tradition of helping guide the nation’s affairs as members of Congress. On Nov. 3, 20 HLS alums faced the voters, either as sitting members of the House and Senate, or as challengers.  At the time of publication, 17 had prevailed, while 1 race had yet to be called.

Three Harvard Law School alumni comfortably held on to U.S. Senate seats in reelection bids on Tuesday. Tom Cotton ’02 (R-Ark.) and Jack Reed ’82 (D-R.I.) each beat their main opponents in a landslide, while Mark Warner ’80 (D-Va.) also won by a sizable lead.

The three will continue to serve alongside HLS Professor Emerita Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.). Warren wasn’t facing reelection to her Senate seat but was nonetheless on the campaign trail—campaigning for Joe Biden after losing her race for the Democratic presidential nomination.

Other HLS alumni in the Senate who didn’t face reelection on Tuesday include former Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney J.D./M.B.A. ’75 (R-Utah), former Democratic vice presidential nominee Tim Kaine ’83 (D-Va.), former Republican presidential candidate Ted Cruz ’95 (R-Texas), Mike Crapo ’77 (R-Idaho), and Chuck Schumer ’74 (D-N.Y.).

Adrian Perkins ’18 lost his Democratic challenge to Republican Sen. Bill Cassidy in Louisiana.

Joseph Kennedy III ’09 (D-Mass.) will be leaving the U.S. House of Representatives after a failed bid for the Democratic nomination for the Senate seat held by Ed Markey (D-Mass.). Markey won his reelection race on Tuesday.

Mondaire Jones ’13 made history as one of two openly gay, Black candidates to win seats in the House. Jones, who previously served in the Justice Department of President Barack Obama ’91, will replace Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), who is retiring.

As of the time of publication, one HLS alum is leading in a House race that has yet to be called by The Associated Press: Antonio Delgado ’05 (D-N.Y.) is running for a second term.

Thirteen other HLS alumni will be returning to the U.S. House: Katie Porter ’01 (D-Calif.), Joaquin Castro ’00 (D-Texas), Jamie Raskin ’87 (D-Md.), Jim Cooper ’80 (D-Tenn.), Josh Gottheimer ’04 (D-N.J.), John Sarbanes ’88 (D-Md.), Raja Krishnamoorthi ’00 (D-Ill.), Terri Sewell ’92 (D-Ala.), Brad Sherman ’79 (D-Calif.), Anthony Brown ’92 (D-Md.), Adam Schiff ’85 (D-Calif.), Juan Vargas ’91 (D-Calif.), and Andy Levin ’94 (D-Mich.).

Lindsey Simmons ’15 lost her Democratic challenge to Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.).