On an election day that saw record voter turnout numbers in states across the country, Harvard Law School graduates awaited their electoral fates. Aside from Barack Obama’s ’91 historic victory in the Presidential election, six HLS alumni are currently headed to the Senate and 12 to the House, with a few elections still too close to call.

Former Governor Mark Warner ’80 (D-VA) easily defeated incumbent Jim Gilmore for a seat in the U.S. Senate. And, John Adler ’84 (D-NJ) won a tight election for a seat in the House in New Jersey. Walter Minnick ’69 (D-ID) is still in a tight race for a seat in Idaho’s first district a day after the election.

Incumbent Senators and HLS alumni Carl Levin ’59 (D-MI) and Jack Reed ’82 (D-RI) retain their seats in the U.S. Senate.

Several HLS alumni handily won their U.S. House re-election races: John Barrow ’79 (D-GA), Jim Cooper ’80 (D-TN), Artur Davis ’93 (D-AL), Barney Frank ’77 (D-MA), Jane Harman ’69 (D-CA), Sander Levin ’57 (D-MI), Thomas Petri ’65 (R-WI), John Sarbanes ’88 (D-MD), Brad Sherman ’79 (D-CA), and Adam Schiff ’85 (D-CA).

Some HLS alumni did not fare as well in their elections. Incumbent Senators Elizabeth Dole ’65 (R-NC) was narrowly defeated. And, Tom Allen ’74 (D-ME), who voluntarily relinquished his seat in the House, was not able to beat incumbent Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) in their electoral match-up.

Along with those listed above, other HLS alumni serving in the U.S. Senate who were not up for re-election this year include, Michael Crapo ’77 (R-ID), Russell Feingold ’79 (D-WI), Carl Levin ’59 (D-MI), and Charles Schumer ’74 (D-NY).

Although none were faced re-election this year, five HLS alumni serve as state governors across the country. They are: James Doyle ’74 (D-WI), Jennifer Granholm ’87 (D-MI), Tim Kaine ’83 (D-VA), Deval Patrick ’82 (D-MA), and Anibel Acevedo-Vila LL.M. ’87, who is governor of Puerto Rico.