The Law School’s Class Day program was held on Wednesday, May 29, on Holmes Field, in front of Langdell Library. This year’s Class Day speaker, author and legal analyst Jeffrey Toobin ’86 reflected on his time at the law school. (See related story)

Watch video of Toobin’s speech (requires QuickTime)

Professor Benjamin I. Sachs, who was selected by the class of 2013 to receive the Sacks-Freund Teaching Award, delivered remarks at the ceremony, as did Isabel Lima, Office Manager at WilmerHale Legal Services, who was the recipient of the Suzanne L. Richardson Staff Appreciation Award.

Watch Professor Sachs’ address to the Class of 2013 (requires QuickTime)

Several students were recognized for their outstanding leadership, citizenship, compassion and dedication to their studies and the profession. (see related story).

Click here to watch the full HLS Class Day ceremony (requires QuickTime)

Harvard University’s 362nd Commencement was held Thursday, May 30. The Harvard Law School Class of 2013 marched from the Law School campus to Tercentenary Theater in Harvard Yard for a university-wide ceremony.

During Harvard Law School Commencement exercises, held in the afternoon in front of Langdell Library, Dean Martha Minow congratulated the more than 700 law school graduates in the Harvard Law School Class of 2013 on their many accomplishments.

Click here to view the full HLS Commencement ceremony (requires QuickTime)

Two graduating students—from the JD Class and the LL.M. Class—also spoke, sharing their insights on their time at HLS and offering advice to fellow graduates.

Advocating for the rule of law in Belarus

Maryna Kavaleuskaya is a Belarusian lawyer who dared to represent the jailed presidential challenger Andrei Sannikov and other political prisoners before she made it to Harvard.

The path to fighting injustice

A series of inspiring mentors, starting with her parents, helped guide Lillian Langford to her life’s passion: fighting injustice.

Harvard Law student graduates at 22

Cortlan Wickliff is one of the youngest African-Americans ever to graduate from Harvard Law School.

Commencement Highlights:

Sachs tells Class of 2013: ‘The really interesting stuff is going to begin when the precedent runs out’ (video)

Professor Benjamin I. Sachs is this year’s winner of the prestigious Albert M. Sacks-Paul A. Freund Award for Teaching Excellence, an honor bestowed each spring by the Harvard Law School graduating class. The award recognizes teaching ability, attentiveness to student concerns and general contributions to student life at the law school.

Lima receives staff appreciation award

Isabel Lima, office manager at the HLS WilmerHale Legal Services Center in the Jamaica Plain neighborhood of Boston, received the Suzanne L. Richardson Staff Appreciation Award during Class Day exercises on May 29. She was selected by the Class of 2013 for going above and beyond in assisting the many students who pass through the WilmerHale center, helping the organization to run effectively, as well as acting as a liaison to the many Spanish-speaking clients and neighbors in the community.

Lena Silver ’13 wins pro bono service award

Lena Silver ’13 is the winner of this year’s Andrew L. Kaufman Pro Bono Service Award, performing the highest number of pro bono service hours in the Class of 2013. During Silver’s time at Harvard Law School, she provided 2,270 hours of free legal services.

Students honored at Class Day ceremony

A number of Harvard Law students received special awards during the 2013 Class Day exercises on May 29. The honored students were recognized for their outstanding leadership, citizenship, compassion and dedication to their studies and the profession.

Author, lawyer and Emmy Award-winning legal analyst Jeffrey Toobin ’86 will serve as Class Day speaker on May 29 at Harvard Law School.

Several other members of the Class of 2013 were recognized for their achievements during law school.

Prizes and Awards

Joseph H. Beale Prize
  • Jonathan Borowsky
  • Ryan David Galisewski
  • Michael Dallas Lieberman (2012 recipient)
  • Giacomo Reali
Addison Brown Prize
  • Adam Stuart Chilton
  • Jean-Christophe Marie Jospeh Ghislain Martel
Victor Brudney Prize
  • Federico Cenzi Venezze
Fay Diploma
  • William Kennelly Dreher
Roger Fisher and Frank E.A. Sander Prize
  • Netta Barak-Corren
  • Jessica Andrea Beess Und Chrostin (2011 recipient)
Harvard Law School Exemplary Clinical Student Award
  • Alexander Michael Smith
  • Lisa Caitlin Sullivan
John Gallup Laylin Prize
  • Adam Stuart Chilton
  • Anna Liza Su
George Leisure Award
  • Emma Lerner Freeman
Yong K. Kim ’95 Memorial Prize
  • Yun-Ru Chen
LGBTQ Writing Prize
  • Anna Lvovsky
The Mancini Prize
  • Lillian Mason Langford (2012 recipient)
  • Goncalo Manoel de Almeida Ribeiro
Irving Oberman Memorial Awards
  • Bankruptcy Law: Stephen D. Adams
  • Constitutional Law: Separation of Powers and Federalism: Andrew Cath Rubenstein
  • Environmental Law: Brendan Clifford Selby
  • Intellectual Property Law: Dorothy Ruolan Du
  • Law and Social Change: Alexandra Christine Wendell
  • Legal History: Saskia Katharina Lettmaier
John M. Olin Law & Economics Prize
  • Brandon Scott Gold
  • Laurence Tai (2012 recipient)
  • Dina Waked (2012 recipient)
  • Crystal Siming Yang
Program in International Financial Systems Prize
  • Da Lin (2012 recipient)
  • Aditi Singh
Project on the Foundations of Private Law Prize
  • Michael David Harbour
  • Ee Kuan Tan
Sidney I. Roberts Prize in the Field of Taxation
  • Koichiro Yoshimura
  • Daniel Moshe Zuckerman (2012 recipient)
Sears Prize: 2011 Recipients
  • Katherine Elizabeth Booth
  • William Kennelly Dreher
  • Samuel Thomas Harbourt
Sears Prize: 2012 Recipients
  • Corey Jared Banks
  • William Kennelly Dreher
Boykin C. Wright Memorial Fund Prizes
(Ames Final Round Competitors)
  • Ryan David Doerfler
  • Yaira S. Dubin
  • Cormac Early
  • Emma Lerner Freeman
  • Benjamin Foster Jackson
  • Michael Dallas Lieberman
  • William Hugh Milliken
  • Conor M. Mulroe
  • Joshua Aaron Segal
  • Michael Joseph Springer
  • Vivek Suri
  • Allison Michelle Trzop


Edith W. Fine Public Interest Fellow
  • Genevieve T. Bonadies
Harvard Public Service Venture Fund Fellows
  • Ona Balkus
  • Nicolette Danielle Boehland
  • Genevieve T. Bonadies
  • Andrew Gellis Crocker
  • Frances Denning Dales
  • Nanshelmun Ruth Dashan
  • Stephanie Elaine Davidson
  • Jason Samuel Gelbort
  • Lillian Mason Langford
  • Elian Bronwen Maritz
  • Elsa Elisabeth Meany
  • Summer Shiana Moore-Estes
  • Lena Miriam Silver
Henigson Fellowships
  • Lillian Mason Langford
  • Elsa Elisabeth Meany
Heyman Fellows
  • Brian T. Clampitt
  • Carly Lauren Cohen
  • Susan Julia Klein Hennessey
  • Lee Masao Hiromoto
  • Zachary Andrew Mason
  • Devin W. Mauney
  • Jordi Ignacio Torres
  • Irving R. Kaufman
Public Service Fellows
  • Delphia Hui Min Lim
  • Valentina Montoya Robledo
One Day’s Work Fellowship
  • Lisa Helaine Friedman
Satter Human Rights Fellow
  • Nicolette Danielle Boehland
  • Jason Samuel Gelbort
Maria, Gabriella and Robert A. Skirnick Public Interest Law Fellowship
  • Lisa Helaine Friedman
  • Laura Helen King