Harvard Law School Professor Einer Elhauge ’86 will receive the prestigious Jerry S. Cohen Award for Antitrust Scholarship.

Elhauge was recognized for his article “Horizontal Shareholding,” 129 Harv. L. Rev. 1267 (2016), which proposes that horizontal shareholding can help explain fundamental economic puzzles including executive compensation methods, reluctance of firms to invest, and the rise of income inequality. Elhauge argues that current antitrust law can tackle this problem by challenging stock acquisitions that create anticompetitive horizontal shareholdings in concentrated markets.

The Cohen Award was created through a trust established in honor of the late Jerry S. Cohen, an outstanding trial lawyer and antitrust writer. Administered by the law firm he founded, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll, the award is given each year to the best antitrust writing during the prior year that is consistent with the principles of economic justice that animated Cohen’s professional life.  Elhauge will receive the award at the American Antitrust Institute’s Annual Conference on June 21.

In addition to the Cohen Award, the award selection committee also conferred six category awards. Thomas Cheng ’02, an associate professor at the University of Hong Kong, was recognized for “Best Antitrust and Intellectual Property Article” for his article “Antitrust Treatment of the No Challenge Clause,” 5 N.Y.U. J. of Intell. Prop. & Ent. Law 437 (2016).

Elhauge is the Petrie Professor of Law at Harvard Law School and Founding Director of the Petrie-Flom Center for Health Law Policy, Biotechnology and Bioethics.  He served as Chairman of the Antitrust Advisory Committee to the Obama Campaign.  He teaches a gamut of courses ranging from Antitrust, Contracts, Corporations, Legislation, and Health Care Law.

His scholarship spans a broad range of topics, including antitrust, public law, corporate law, patents, the legal profession, and health law policy.  His most recent books include: “Obamacare on Trial” (2012); “Research Handbook on the Economics of Antitrust Law” (Edward Elgar Publishing Ltd. 2013); and “U.S. Antitrust Law and Economics” (Foundation Press 2011).