Of the 39 law school graduates who are serving as clerks to the U.S. Supreme Court justices and retired justices in the 2010-2011 term, 11 hail from Harvard Law School—the highest number from a single law school this year.

Newly confirmed Associate Justice and former HLS Dean Elena Kagan ’86 has appointed three HLS graduates to serve as clerks for this year’s term of the nation’s highest court. Sitting Supreme Court Justices have four clerks each, for a total of 36. Each of the three retired justices also has a clerk.

The 11 HLS graduates serving as U.S. Supreme Court clerks for the 2010-2011 term are:

  • Robert Allen ’09
Justice Scalia
  • Thomas Lue ’05
Justice Sotomayor
  • Trisha Anderson ’03
Justice Kagan
  • Elizabeth B. Prelogar ’08
Justice Kagan
  • Andrew Crespo ’08
Justice Kagan
  • Elisabeth Theodore ’09
Justice Ginsburg
  • Brook Hopkins ’07
Justice Souter (Retired)
  • Adam Unikowsky ’07
Justice Scalia
  • Steven Horowitz ’09
Justice Kennedy
  • David Zionts ’08
Justice Breyer
  • Robert Johnson ’09
Justice Kennedy