Eight Harvard Law School faculty members were recently ranked among the top 100 corporate governance scholars in the world, in all corporate areas, including management, law, economics, and finance. Included on the American Academy of Management’s list of 100 “high-impact scholars” were HLS Professors Lucian Bebchuk, John Coates, Reinier Kraakman, Mark Roe ’75, Steven Shavell and Cass Sunstein ’78. Former HLS Dean and current Visiting Professor Elena Kagan ’86 and HLS Lecturer on Law Leo Strine also were featured on the list.

The findings were based on a study by William Q. Judge and Thomas Weber of Old Dominion University and Maureen I. Muller-Kahle of Pennsylvania State University, exploring the concept of interdisciplinary research impact. For the study, the authors developed a new index to rank the scholarly impact of all the authors in the ISI’s Web of Science who have published articles in the field of corporate governance research. The study also examined predictors of scholarly impact.

Published by the Academy of Management Learning and Education, the paper is, “What Are the Correlates of Interdisciplinary Research Impact? The Case of Corporate Governance Research.”

The Academy of Management is a leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations. Academy members are scholars at colleges, universities, and research institutions, as well as practitioners with scholarly interests from business, government, and nonprofit organizations.