The American Law Institute has elected HLS Professors Tomiko Brown-Nagin and Jonathan Zittrain ’95 as members.

The leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and improve the law, the ALI drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, Model Codes, and Principles of Law that are influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education.

Brown-Nagin and Zittrain were two of 42 members elected to the ALI this year. Three HLS alums — the Hon. Geoffrey W. Crawford ’80, U.S. District Court, Court of Vermont; Professor Aya Gruber ’97, University of Colorado, Boulder Law School; and Dean Joseph D. Kearney ’89, Marquette University Law School — were also elected this year.

Brown-Nagin, the Daniel P.S. Paul Professor of Constitutional Law at Harvard Law School, is also a professor of history, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, and co-director of the Program of Study in Law and History at Harvard University.

An award-winning legal historian and expert in constitutional law and education law and policy, she has published articles and book chapters on the Supreme Court’s equal protection jurisprudence, civil rights law and history, the Affordable Care Act and education reform in The Yale Law Journal, the Columbia Law Review, the Duke Law Journal and the Journal of Law & Education.

Her 2011 book, “Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement” (Oxford), won the Bancroft Prize in U.S. History, the highest honor awarded annually to a work in the field of history.  She is currently writing a biography of Judge Constance Baker Motley, the civil rights lawyer, politician, and judge. In April, she delivered a chair lecture, “On Being First: Judge Constance Baker Motley and Social Activism in the American Century,” to commemorate her appointment as the Daniel P.S. Paul Professor of Constitutional Law.

Zittrain is the George Bemis Professor of International Law at Harvard Law School and the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, professor of computer science at the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, director of the Harvard Law School Library, and faculty director of the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society.

He is the author of “The Future of the Internet — And How to Stop It,” and his research interests include battles for control of digital property and content, cryptography, electronic privacy, the roles of intermediaries within Internet architecture, human computing, and the useful and unobtrusive deployment of technology in education.

He performed the first large-scale tests of Internet filtering in China and Saudi Arabia, and as part of the OpenNet Initiative co-edited a series of studies of Internet filtering by national governments: “Access Denied: The Practice and Policy of Global Internet Filtering;” “Access Controlled: The Shaping of Power, Rights, and Rule in Cyberspace;” and “Access Contested: Security, Identity, and Resistance in Asian Cyberspace.”

He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Electronic Frontier Foundation and the Board of Advisors for Scientific American. He has served as a trustee of the Internet Society, and as a forum fellow of the World Economic Forum, which named him a Young Global Leader, and as Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence at the Federal Communications Commission, where he previously chaired the Open Internet Advisory Committee.