Your browser does not support JavaScript

Since 2005, Raoul Berger-Mark DeWolfe Howe Legal History Fellows have gone on to amazing careers in the legal academy. Among the alumni and alumnae of the program are tenured professors at the top law schools in the United States. The following table provides detailed information about the current work of former fellows.

2018-19 Berger-Howe Fellow

William SullivanWilliam P. Sullivan

William P. Sullivan is the Raoul Berger-Mark DeWolfe Howe Legal History Fellow for 2018-2019. A graduate of Princeton and Yale Law School, he is a Ph.D. candidate in the departments of classics and history at the University of Chicago, where his dissertation is entitled, “Relevance in the Civil Law Tradition: The Emergence of the Roman-Canon Law of Positions.” He was a Legal History Fellow at Yale Law School in 2016-2017 and a law clerk for Judge José A. Cabranes of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in 2017-2018.


Lewis Fellow Fellowship Year(s) Current Position
Marie-Amelie George 2017-2018 Assistant Professor of Law
Wake Forest School of Law
Nikolas Bowie 2016-2017 Assistant Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Adam Lebovitz 2015-2016
Maeve Glass 2014-2015 Associate Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
Sara Mayeux 2013-2014 Assistant Professor of Law and Assistant Professor of History
Vanderbilt Law School
Peter C. Pihos 2012-2013 Assistant Professor of History
Western Washington University
Sam Erman 2011-2012 Associate Professor of Law
USC Gould School of Law
Jedidiah Kroncke 2010-2011 Associate Professor
Faculty of Law, The University of Hong Kong
Deborah Dinner 2009-2010 Associate Professor of Law
Emory University School of Law
Kara Swanson 2008-2009 Professor of Law
Northeastern University School of Law
Cynthia Nicoletti 2007-2008 Professor of Law
University of Virginia School of Law
R. Owen Williams 2007-2008 President
Associated Colleges of the South
Diana I. Williams 2006-2007
Daniel I. Sharfstein 2005-2006 Professor of Law and Professor of History
Vanderbilt Law School

Learn more about the Raoul Berger-Mark DeWolfe Howe Legal History Fellowship