Your browser does not support JavaScript

How to Sign Up & Apply

How to Sign Up & Apply

Every fall semester, Student Practice Organizations host information sessions to familiarize new students with their work and application process. Most (but not all) SPOs require an application and all SPOs require students to complete a training. For the SPOs that do not require an application, the successful completion of the training is sufficient for students to become members. Learn more about the information sessions, application requirements, and training dates below. 2021 information will be continuously updated.

For an overview of the work, skills developed, and time commitment of each SPO, please review the SPO Skills Matrix 21-22.

Harvard defenders

Open House/Info Session: Thursday, September 9 @ 12:30-2:30 PM at Defenders Office 1607 Massachusetts Ave, 2nd floor across from the HLS Coop. To-go food provided.

Application Deadline: Thursday, September 18 @5 PM   https://bit.ly/DefendersFall2021 Interviews scheduled September 13-18.

Training Date: All new Defenders are expected to attend the New Defender training Friday, September 24, 3:00 – 5:00 PM

Contact: Jonathan Roberts hdefenderspresident@gmail.com

 

Harvard law entrepreneurship project (hlep)

Application Deadline: Students can sign up for our mailing list using the link at: hlep.org  More information will be circulated to mailing list subscribers and via Calendar@Law.  Anyone may apply to be a team member. To be a team leader, applicants must answer additional questions regarding leadership experience, though no prior HELP experience is necessary.

Training Dates: Only one of these Monday, September 20 @ 12:30pm-1:30pm OR Tuesday, September 21 @ 12:30-1:30pmStudents must attend a training session and submit a client preference form to be placed on a project team.

Team Leader Training: Monday, September 27 @ 12:30-1:30pm.

Contact: Co-Presidents Genie Gorbonosov ggorbonosov@jd22.law.harvard.edu  and Kate Pfeiffer kpfeiffer@jd22.law.harvard.edu

HLS Immigration Project (HIP)

Meet-and-Greet/Info Session: Monday, September 20th  @ 5PM Zoom:https://harvard.zoom.us/j/7900837738

Application Deadline: Monday, September 20 @ 11:59pm.  Application released by email after Student Activities Fair. In-person interviews will be held the following weekend. Decisions released the following week.

Training Dates: Depends on project – likely in early October.

Contact: Co-presidents Gina Starfield and Stacey Menjivar hip@mail.law.harvard.edu

 

Harvard Mediation Program (HMP)

Application Deadline: Friday, September 24 @ 11:59 pm  The application form can be found at: https://clinics.law.harvard.edu/hmp/training/. Applicants will interview on Wednesday, September 29 or Thursday, September 30.

Training Dates: No full training this fall semester – Saturday and Sunday, February 5-6, 2022, and Saturday and Sunday, February 19-20, 2022

Contact: Recruiting Directors Sofia Panarella spanarella@jd23.law.harvard.edu and Kyle Patel kpatel@jd23.law.harvard.edu

 

Harvard Prison Legal Assistance Project (PLAP)

Application: No application required. PLAP is open to all students who are interested in learning more about how we can disrupt the prison system. Email plapdirectors@gmail.com for more information. PLAP will also accept sign ups at the Student Activities Fair.

PLAP is Back! Celebration: Thursday, September 16 @ 7-8:30 PM. Location TBD. Sign up for our newsletter to get an official update!

Required New Member Training: Wednesday, September 22 12:30-1:30 PM OR Thursday, September 23 6:30-7:30 PM, locations TBD. Supplemental trainings throughout the semester in skills such as cross examination and client management.

Sign up for listserv to receive more information.

Contact: Co-Executive Directors Emily Chazen echazen@jd22.law.harvard.edu and Jack Lubin jlubin@jd22.law.harvard.edu

 

HLS Advocates for Human Rights

Welcome Event: Thursday, September 16 @ 12:30-1:30 PM WCC 3018.  Learn more about what being an Advocates member is like and what projects we’ll be working on this semester!

Project Membership Application: Application released by email after Student Activities Fair. Decisions released the following week.

Orientation for New Members: TBD

Contact: Co-presidents Sondra Anton santon@jd22.law.harvard.edu and Anoush Baghdassarian abaghdassarian@jd22.law.harvard.edu

 

HLS Mississippi delta project

Application Deadline: Sunday, September 26 by 11:59 pm. Applications available at https://bit.ly/2lx3m26. Accepted students will be notified with team assignments.

MDP All Team Kickoff Meeting: Thursday, September 30, 12:30-1:30 PM, Location TBD

Contact: Co-Chairs Tori Oto voto@jd22.law.harvard.edu and Melanie Hagerman mhagerman@jd22.law.harvard.edu

 

HLS negotiators

Application: No application required. Simply sign up to attend our three-hour basic training via the Negotiators website: clinics.law.harvard.edu/negotiators/

ADR Night: Tuesday, September 28 @ 6:00 PM. Location TBD.

Fall Basic Training: TBD (lunch provided)

Contact: President Arlene Lopez alopez@jd23.law.harvard.edu

 

Project No One Leaves (PNOL)

Application: No application required. Sign up for mailing list here. Further information and dates of projects/assignments will be sent to our mailing list.

Training: Saturday, September 25 @11 AM-noon, location TBD. No prior experience required.

 

RECORDING ARTISTS PROJECT (RAP)

Application: No application and no prior experience necessary; anyone can apply to join. Email rap@law.harvard.edu for more details and fill out new volunteer survey to be placed on a project

Info Session: TBD

Training Date: Sunday, September 26. Fall Training is mandatory for all students even if they only plan on joining in the spring.

Contact: Co-Presidents Chris Zheng czheng@jd22.law.harvard.edu and Anil Partridge apartridge@jd22.law.harvard.edu or  hlsrap@gmail.com.

 

Tenant Advocacy Project (TAP)

TAP Coffee Chats: Throughout the weeks of September 6 and September 13.

Application Deadline: Friday, September 17 @ 11:59 pm Application consists of a cover sheet, an interest statement, and a resume. Please email your application to tenantadvocacyapp@gmail.com. To get an application, fill out TAP’s application interest form here: https://forms.gle/1DREJVCR6HicWzMMA.

Mandatory Introductory Training for New Members: Saturday, September 25, 10:00am – 4:00pm.  Additional trainings throughout the year.

Contact: Co-Presidents Lena Melillo lmelillo@jd22.law.harvard.edu and Bella Berkley iberkley@jd23.law.harvard.edu