Skip to content

Since 1993, Reginald F. Lewis Fellows have gone on to amazing careers in the legal academy. Among the alumni and alumnae of the program are tenured professors at the top law schools in the United States. The following table provides detailed information about the current work of former fellows.

2022-23 Reginald F. Lewis Fellow

Idriss Paul-Armand Fofana

Idriss Fofana is the Reginald F. Lewis Fellow at Harvard Law School. He is a legal historian whose research examines the relationship between international law and global inequality. His scholarship explores African, Asian, and indigenous engagement with transnational legal regimes through subjects as varied as the state regulation of private property, non-discrimination standards, the law of treaties, and international labor migration.

Idriss is a PhD candidate in History at Columbia University. He earned his JD from Yale Law School and his undergraduate degree from Harvard University. He served as the Judicial Fellow for Judge Abdulqawi Yusuf, then president of the International Court of Justice. Idriss has participated in litigation and advocacy on matters of immigration, citizenship, and national security. He has also worked in the public international law and international arbitration practices of major law firms.

Idriss’s work has appeared in the Journal of the History of International Law/Revue d’histoire du droit international, the Heidelberg Journal of International Law/ Zeitschrift für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht, and the Yale Journal of International Law. His research has been funded by the American Society for Legal History, the Fulbright Student Scholarship program, the Council on Library and Information Resources, the Mellon Foundation, and the Social Science Research Council.

Idriss is licensed to practice law in the State of New York.

Chika Okafor2021-2022PhD Candidate in Economics
Harvard University
Zahra Takhshid2019-2021Assistant Professor of Law
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Nikolas Bowie2017-2018Louis D. Brandeis Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Duane Rudolph2015-2017Assistant Professor of Law
Peking University, School of Transnational Law
K. Sabeel Rahman2012-2014Associate Professor of Law
Brooklyn Law School
Abbye J. Atkinson2009-2010Class of 1965 Assistant Professor of Law
UC Berkeley
Vincent Chiao2008-2010Associate Professor
University of Toronto Faculty of Law
Eleanor Marie Brown2007-2009Professor of Law and International Affairs
Penn State Law
Hilary C. Robinson2006-2007Associate Professor of Law and Sociology
Northeastern University School of Law
Angela M. Banks2004-2006Charles J. Merriam Distinguished Professor of Law
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Timothy William Waters2003-2004Professor of Law and Val Nolan Faculty Fellow
Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Gavin Clarkson2002-2003Owner/Managing Director
Native American Capital
Cristina M. Rodríguez2001-2002Leighton Homer Surbeck Professor of Law
Yale Law School
Laura Nyantung Beny2000-2001Earl Warren DeLano Professor of Law
University of Michigan Law School
Stephen M. Rich2000-2001Maurice Jones, Jr. – Class of 1925 Professor of Law
University of Southern California School of Law
Kenneth W. Mack1999-2000Lawrence D. Biele Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Lino Mendiola, III1998-1999Partner, Co-Head of Global Energy
Eversheds-Sutherland, LLP
Marc Spindelman1997-1998Isadore and Ida Topper Professor of Law
Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
Ralph Richard Banks1996-1997Jackson Eli Reynolds Professor of Law
Stanford Law School
Alexa J. Smith1995-1996Director of Major Gifts
NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.
Sydney Patel1994-1995
Richard Thompson Ford
(Inaugural Lewis Fellow)
1993-1994George E. Osborn Professor of Law
Stanford Law School