In its recent annual meeting held in San Diego, the Western Economic Association International elected Harvard Law School Professor Lucian Bebchuk to be its president-elect during 2011-2012. Bebchuk is scheduled to serve as president of the WEAI during 2012-2013.

Founded in 1922, WEAI is a non-profit, educational organization of economists, with 1,800 members around the world, dedicated to encouraging and communicating economic research and analysis. Its past presidents includes Nobel Laureates James Heckman (2007), Clive Granger (2003), Oliver Williamson (2000), Gary Becker (1997), Milton Friedman (1985), James Buchanan (1984), Kenneth Arrow (1981) and Douglass North (1976).

Bebchuk is the William J. Friedman and Alicia Townsend Friedman Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance and director of the Program on Corporate Governance at Harvard Law School. He is also a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research and inaugural fellow of the European Corporate Governance Network. He co-wrote “Pay without Performance: the Unfulfilled Promise of Executive Compensation,” with HLS Professor Jesse Fried.