Your browser does not support JavaScript

Joseph H. Beale Prize

The Joseph H. Beale Prize was established in 1930 by John Grier Buchanan, LL.B. 1912. The prize is awarded to the student who obtains the highest grade during the year in the course on Conflict of Laws. If there is more than one class in Conflict of Laws, the recipients of the highest grade in each class will share the prize.

Morgan Chu Prize

Established by a gift from Mr. Morgan Chu ’76 and his wife, Helen W. Chu, the income to be awarded to the one student with the highest first year grades who is a member of the following student organizations: Asian Pacific American Law Students Association, Black Law Students Association, La Alianza, Native American Law Students Association, Chinese American Law Students Association, Korean Association of HLS, Middle East Law Students Association, Multiracial Law Students Association, or the South Asian Law Students Association.

Fay Diploma

Established by an anonymous gift in 1907, the Fay Diploma is prepared and issued in memory of Jonathan Fay, A.B. 1778, and Samuel Phillips Prescott Fay, A.B. 1798, and is awarded to the graduating J.D. candidate who, by scholarship, conduct, and character, has given evidence of the greatest promise. Traditionally, the Fay Diploma is awarded to the person who graduates with the highest combined average for three years of study in residence at the Harvard Law School.

Sears Prize

Sarah C. Sears established this prize in memory of her son, Joshua Montgomery Sears, Jr., LL.B. 1904. From this fund, four prizes are awarded annually, one to each of the two students receiving the highest averages in the work of the first year, and one to each of the two students receiving the highest averages in the work of the second year. To be eligible for the Sears Prize, the student must have met the minimum registration requirements described in Section I of the Harvard Law School Handbook of Academic Policies.