On June 28, HLS Dean Martha Minow presented the 2011 Dean’s Award for Excellence to seven individuals and one team of staff members at an awards ceremony in Ames Courtroom.

The award recognizes staff members who embody a spirit of excellence in collaboration, commitment, innovation, leadership and learning within the HLS community.  More than 150 staff, faculty and family members were on hand for the gathering.

“One of the greatest joys of being dean,” said Minow, “is to be able to recognize the incredible contributions that so many talented and creative and hard working people demonstrate everyday at this institution.” The ceremony commenced with an operatic performance by two staff members: vocalist Joei Perry, assistant director of faculty support services, accompanied on the piano by Brad Connor, faculty assistant. “This is a day of high notes,” said Minow. “We are here to honor people who are “high notes” of this institution.”

This year’s winners:

Tracy Blanchard, Clinical Coordinator and Faculty Assistant, Harvard Negotiation and Mediation Clinical Program

June Casey, Curriculum Specialist/Faculty Services Librarian, Law Library

Tony Curcio, Associate Director of Student Financial Services

Lisa Dealy, Assistant Dean for Clinical and Pro Bono Programs

Meg DeMarco, Director of Student Affairs, Dean of Students Office

Elizabeth Hopkins, Copy Center Manager

Carole Mason, Faculty Assistant

Document Delivery Team, Law Library:

  • Kyle Courtney, Document Delivery Librarian
  • Louise Ragno, Library Assistant
  • Jessica Rios, Library Assistant
  • Josh Kantor, Library Assistant
  • Shahrzad Mirshamsy, Library Assistant
  • Ashley Pierce, Library Assistant
  • Heather Pierce, Library Assistant
  • Anne-Marie Taylor, Library Assistant

HLS staff members are nominated by their peers for the award. An advisory committee made up of past Dean’s Award winners, human resources representatives, and additional selected staff members make recommendations to the Dean about who should receive the awards.

This year’s advisory committee, which was co-chaired by Karen Pemstein and Kathy Thurman from Human Resources, included the following past recipients of the Dean’s Award for Excellence: Debbie Gallagher, Director, Faculty Support Services; Ken Lafler, Assistant Dean for Student Financial Services; Jon Murley, Financial Manager, Berkman Center for Internet and Society; Jane Reader, Faculty Assistant, Faculty Support Services; and Susannah Tobin, Director, First Year Legal Research and Writing Program.