Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor of the U.S. Supreme Court presided over the oral argument in the final round of the 2011 Ames Moot Court Competition on Thursday, November 17th, 2011. The competition was held in the historic Ames Courtroom of Harvard Law School.

In addition to Sotomayor, Chief Judge Frank Easterbrook of the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals, and Judge Peter Rubin ’88 of the Massachusetts Court of Appeals judged this year’s competition.

The Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review provided a live blog of the competition, which included judges’ questions, oralists’ arguments, reader comments and questions, and interactive trivia.

Last year marked the centennial anniversary of the establishment of the formal Ames Moot Court competition at HLS created in honor of James Barr Ames LL.B. 1872, dean of the law school from 1895 to 1910.

The finalists for this year’s competition included:

The John McCarthy Roll Memorial Team
The Belva Ann Lockwood Memorial Team
  • Avis Bohlen
  • Adam Hallowell (Oralist)
  • Jessica Palmer (Oralist)
  • Yvonne Saadi
  • Matthew Scarola
  • Benjamin Watson
  • Caroline Anderson (Oralist)
  • Matthew Greenfield (Oralist)
  • Stephen Pezzi
  • Mitchell Reich
  • Stephanie Simon
  • Noah Weiss

Additional coverage of the competition finals is available on the website of the Harvard Gazette.