Harvard Law School Professors Mark Roe ’75 and Michael Klarman are amongst the new class of members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this week.

Joining them are HLS alumnus John Donohue III ’77, a Yale Law School Professor, and Theodor Meron LL.M. ’55 S.J.D. ’57, a judge on the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY).

Known as one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy this year elected 210 new members who have made “preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.”

An expert in corporate law and bankruptcy issues, Roe joined the HLS faculty in 2001 as the David Berg Professor of Law. He is the author of numerous books, including “Strong Managers, Weak Owners” (Princeton University Press Japanese translation ed. 1995), “Political Determinants of Corporate Governance” (Oxford University Press 2003), and “Bankruptcy and Corporate Reorganization: Legal and Financial Materials,” published in 2007 as a second edition. He is also an editor of the casebooks, “Corporate Governance: Political and Legal Perspectives” (2005) and “Convergence and Persistence in Corporate Governance Systems” (2004).

Before earning his J.D. from Harvard Law School in 1975, Roe received his B.A. from Columbia University in 1972.

Klarman joined the HLS faculty last year and writes about constitutional law and history, with a particular focus on race. He is the author of several books and over 30 articles, including “From Jim Crow to Civil Rights: The Supreme Court and the Struggle for Racial Equality,” which won the Bancroft Prize in 2005, widely considered to be the most prestigious award in American history writing. Most recently, Klarman wrote “Unfinished Business: Racial Equality in American History,” which was published in 2007.

Klarman holds a B.A. and an M.A. from the University of Pennsylvania, a D. Phil in History from Oxford University, and a J.D. from Stanford Law School. He is a member of the Order of the Coif and Phi Beta Kappa and was a Marshall Scholar at Oxford. After graduation from law school, Klarman clerked for Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

Other members of the HLS faculty who have been selected as fellows include Lucian Bebchuk LL.M. ’80 S.J.D. ’84, Victor Brudney, Robert Clark ’72, Richard Fallon, Roger Fisher LL.B. ’48, Charles Fried, Mary Ann Glendon, Charles Haar LL.B. ’48, Morton Horwitz LL.B. ’67, Dean Elena Kagan ’86, Benjamin Kaplan, Louis Kaplow ’81, Duncan Kennedy, Randall Kennedy, Daniel Meltzer ’75, Frank Michelman LL.B. ’60, Martha Minow, Robert Mnookin LL.B. ’68, Steven Shavell, William Stuntz , Cass Sunstein ’78 , Laurence Tribe ’66, Mark Tushnet, Roberto Mangabeira Unger LL.M. ’70 S.J.D. ’76, and Elizabeth Warren.