Harvard Law School Professors Gerald L. Neuman ’80 and Jack Goldsmith are amongst the new class of members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Joining them are HLS alumni Eric Posner ’91, Kirkland and Ellis Professor of Law at the University of Chicago Law School; and Seana Shiffrin ’96, Professor of Philosophy and Pete Kameron Professor of Law and Social Justice at UCLA Law.

Other alumni who made the list include: William Leete Rawn III ’69, president, William Rawn Associates Architects, Inc.; Roger W. Ferguson ’79, president and CEO, TIAA-CREF; and Loren Rothschild ’63, managing director, Sycamore Hill Capital Group.

Known as one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy this year elected 299 new members who are leaders in sciences, social sciences, the humanities and arts, business, and public affairs.

An expert on immigration, the rights of foreign nationals and transnational aspects of constitutional law, Neuman is the J. Sinclair Armstrong Professor of International, Foreign, and Comparative Law. He joined the HLS faculty in 2006 from Columbia Law School. Neuman is the author of the book “Strangers to the Constitution: Immigrants, Borders and Fundamental Law,” an analysis of the role of location and status in defining constitutional rights, and co-author of “Human Rights.” In addition to a J.D. from HLS, he holds a Ph.D. in mathematics from MIT and an A.B. from Harvard College.

The Henry L. Shattuck Professor of Law, Goldsmith is an expert in foreign relations law, conflicts of law, national security law, and regulation of the Internet. Prior to joining the HLS faculty in 2004, he headed the Justice Department’s Office of Legal Counsel. Prior to his federal service, Goldsmith taught law at the University of Chicago and the University of Virginia. He is the author of several books, including “The Terror Presidency: Law and Judgment Inside the Bush Administration,” “Who Controls the Internet? Illusions of a Borderless World,” and “The Limits of International Law,” among others. Goldsmith is a graduate of Yale Law School and holds degrees from the Hague Academy of International Law and Oxford University. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Washington & Lee University.

Other members of the HLS faculty who have been selected as fellows in previous years include Lucian Bebchuk LL.M. ’80 S.J.D. ’84, Victor Brudney, Robert Clark ’72, Richard Fallon, Roger Fisher LL.B. ’48, Charles Fried, Mary Ann Glendon, Charles Haar LL.B. ’48, Morton Horwitz LL.B. ’67, Elena Kagan ’86, Benjamin Kaplan, Louis Kaplow ’81, Duncan Kennedy, Randall Kennedy, Michael Klarman, Daniel Meltzer ’75, Frank Michelman LL.B. ’60, Martha Minow, Robert Mnookin LL.B. ’68, Mark Roe ’75, Steven Shavell, William Stuntz , Cass Sunstein ’78 , Laurence Tribe ’66, Mark Tushnet, Roberto Mangabeira Unger LL.M. ’70 S.J.D. ’76, and Elizabeth Warren.