A total of 13 Harvard Law School alumni won their congressional bids during the U.S. midterm elections.

Two longtime members of the Senate, Majority Leader Chuck Schumer ’74 (D-N.Y.) and Mike Crapo ’77 (R-Idaho), were both reelected. They rejoined Harvard Law Professor Emerita Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) as well as several fellow graduates in the U.S. Senate who were not up for reelection: Tom Cotton ’02 (R-Ark.), Ted Cruz ’95 (R-Texas), Tim Kaine ’83 (D-Va.), Jack Reed ’82 (D-R.I.), Mitt Romney J.D./M.B.A. ’75 (R-Utah), and Mark Warner ’80 (D-Va.). 

After advancing to multiple rounds in Alaska’s ranked-choice voting system, Republican challenger Kelly Tshibaka ’02 lost her bid to unseat Republican Senator of Alaska Lisa Murkowski.

Voters also returned 10 Harvard Law alumni to the U.S. House of Representatives: Joaquin Castro ’00 (D-Texas), Josh Gottheimer ’04 (D-N.J.), Raja Krishnamoorthi ’00 (D-Ill.), Katie Porter ’01 (D-Calif.), Jamie Raskin ’87 (D-Md.), John Sarbanes ’88 (D-Md.), Adam Schiff ’85 (D-Calif.), Terri Sewell ’92 (D-Ala.), Brad Sherman ’79 (D-Calif.), and Juan Vargas ’91 (D-Calif.). 

Glenn Ivey ’86 (D-Md.) joined Congress as a first-time representative after winning his race to replace Anthony Brown ’92 (D-Md.). Brown chose instead to run for Maryland attorney general and became the first African American elected to that position.

Congressman Jim Cooper ’80 (D-Tenn.) did not seek reelection after his district was changed in the latest redistricting, while Antonio Delgado ’05 (D-N.Y.) stepped down from his congressional seat earlier in 2022 in order to serve as New York’s lieutenant governor. Democratic candidate Josh Riley ’07 lost his race against a Republican challenger to represent Delgado’s former congressional district, which was also changed in the latest redistricting.

Recent graduate Cara Mund ’22 lost her bid as an independent to unseat a Republican incumbent in North Dakota’s at-large district. House members Mondaire Jones ’13 (D-N.Y.) and Andy Levin ’94 (D-Mich.), who were also impacted by recent redistricting, left Congress after losing in primary races.