Harvard Law School has awarded the Joshua Montgomery Sears, Jr. prize to five students for academic achievement during the 2001-2002 academic year. Christian Pistilli of Staten Island, New York; David Landau of Cambridge, Mass.; and Jared Kramer of Atkinson, NH were the first-year recipients. Michael Shah of Muttontown, New York and Michael Gottlieb of Hyattsville, MD were the second-year recipients.

The School established the Sears Prize in 1912 with support from Sarah C. Sears in memory of her son, Joshua Montgomery Sears, Jr., Class of 1904.