Your browser does not support JavaScript

Since 1993, Reginald F. Lewis Fellows have gone on to amazing careers in the legal academy. Among the alumni and alumnae of the program are tenured professors at the top law schools in the United States. The following table provides detailed information about the current work of former fellows.

2020-21 Reginald F. Lewis Fellow

Zahra Takhshid

Zahra Takhshid is the Lewis Fellow and a Lecturer on Law at Harvard Law School.  She is interested in teaching and writing about contracts, torts, digital privacy, and technology and the law. Part of her scholarship explores how to use tools from torts and contracts in resolving challenges with emerging technological developments. A second strand of her interest is Islamic law, particularly private Islamic law. Zahra is also an affiliate with the Program in Islamic Law at Harvard Law and the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University.

Zahra’s research has been published or is forthcoming in Cardozo Law Review, Minnesota Law Review Online, Buffalo Law Review, UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law, among others. She has contributed to the Harvard Journal of Law and Technology Digest and Harvard Islamic Law Blog.

Zahra holds a doctorate (S.J.D.) from Fordham Law School. In her doctoral dissertation, she analyzed the role of public policy and unconscionability in negligence lawsuits that involve the express assumption of risk defense. At Fordham she was also a fellow at the Institute on Religion, Law, & Lawyer’s Work. Zahra earned an LL.M. from the George Washington University Law School where she was the recipient of full tuition Thomas Buergenthal Scholarship. She also has an LL.M. (Summa Cum Laude) and an LL.B. (Magna Cum Laude) from University of Tehran School of Law and Political Science.

She is a native speaker of Farsi and proficient in French and Arabic. Zahra also has basic knowledge of the programming languages Swift and Python. She is licensed to practice law in the State of New York and Iran.

Lewis Fellow Fellowship Year(s) Current Position
Zahra Takhshid 2019-2021 Reginald F. Lewis Fellow
Nikolas Bowie 2017-2018 Assistant Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Duane Rudolph 2015-2017 Associate Professor of Law
University of Maine School of Law
K. Sabeel Rahman 2012-2014 Associate Professor of Law
Brooklyn Law School
Abbye J. Atkinson 2009-2010 Assistant Professor of Law
UC Berkeley
Vincent Chiao 2008-2010 Associate Professor
University of Toronto Faculty of Law
Eleanor Marie Brown 2007-2009 Professor of Law and International Affairs
Penn State Law
Hilary C. Robinson 2006-2007 Associate Professor of Law and Sociology
Northeastern University School of Law
Angela M. Banks 2004-2006 Charles J. Merriam Distinguished Professor of Law
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Timothy William Waters 2003-2004 Professor of Law and Val Nolan Faculty Fellow
Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Gavin Clarkson 2002-2003 Owner/Managing Director
Native American Capital
Cristina M. Rodríguez 2001-2002 Leighton Homer Surbeck Professor of Law
Yale Law School
Laura Nyantung Beny 2000-2001 Earl Warren DeLano Professor of Law
University of Michigan Law School
Stephen M. Rich 2000-2001 Professor of Law
University of Southern California School of Law
Kenneth W. Mack 1999-2000 Lawrence D. Biele Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Lino Mendiola, III 1998-1999 Partner
Eversheds-Sutherland, LLP
Marc Spindelman 1997-1998 Isadore and Ida Topper Professor of Law
Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
Ralph Richard Banks 1996-1997 Jackson Eli Reynolds Professor of Law
Stanford Law School
Alexa J. Smith 1995-1996 Major Gifts Officer
Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
Sydney Patel 1994-1995
Richard Thompson Ford 1993-1994 George E. Osborn Professor of Law
Stanford Law School

Learn more about the Reginald F. Lewis Fellowship for Law Teaching