Skip to content

1985 Ames Moot Court Competition

November 21, 1985

Justices William H. Rehnquist, Lanier Anderson, and Dolores K. Sloviter at the 1985 Ames Moot Court.
Credit: HLS Historical & Special Collections

Case: Yardley v. Deuteronomy Chemical


Hon. William H. Rehnquist, Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Hon. R. Lanier Anderson III ’61, U.S. Court of Appeals for The Eleventh Circuit
Hon. Dolores K. Sloviter, U.S. Court of Appeals for The Third Circuit


Charles Sumner Team


Best Brief, Best Overall

Fredric D. Bellamy
Bennett Evan Cooper
Benjamin Gibson
Mark L. Mathie
M. Gayle Robinson
Richard M. Shearer

Myra Bradwell Team


Ralph A. Berman
Lorin L. Reisner, Best Oralist
Stephen Kennedy
Rick Chessen
Roberta M. Harding
Richard A. Yorkgitis Jr.

Watch the video: 1985 Ames Moot Court Competition

Final Round

Yardley v. Deuteronomy Chemical