Skip to content

The Dean’s Awards for Community Leadership

The Dean’s Awards for Community Leadership recognize a number of graduating students who contribute time and energy to making the HLS community a better place through involvement in student organizations, community service groups, and individual efforts. Nominations are made to the Dean of Students each spring and are reviewed by a committee.

Andrew L. Kaufman Pro Bono Service Award

The Andrew L. Kaufman Pro Bono Service Award is granted each year in honor of Professor Andrew Kaufman ’54, who has been instrumental in creating and supporting the Pro Bono Service Program at HLS.  The award is given to the J.D. student(s) in the graduating class who exemplifies the pro bono public spirit and an extraordinary commitment to improving and delivering high quality volunteer legal services to disadvantaged communities.  Selection is based on the documented clinical, SPO, and extracurricular service to law-related public service projects or organizations; the quality of work they performed; and the impact of their work on the community. The award comes with an honorarium.  For more information, contact the Office of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs, WCC 3085.

David A. Grossman Exemplary Clinical Student Award

The Office of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs recognizes a graduating student who embodies the pro bono spirit of the late Clinical Professor David Grossman ’88 and exemplifies putting theory into practice through clinical work. The student winner has demonstrated excellence in representing individual clients, undertaking group advocacy or policy reform projects. In addition, in keeping with the clinical teaching model, the student has been self-reflective and shown thoughtfulness and compassion in his/her practice and has contributed to the clinical community at HLS in a meaningful way. The winner will receive a cash prize.  For more information, contact the Office of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs, WCC 3085.

Gants Access to Justice Award

The Gants Access to Justice Award honors the late Chief Justice Ralph D. Gants ‘80 in recognizing a graduating student dedicated to advancing access to justice, racial equity and/or criminal justice reform. The recipient has performed outstanding clinical work, summer and/or other employment, and volunteer service in these areas, and has demonstrated leadership in helping to eliminate systemic barriers to justice. This award comes with an honorarium. For more information, contact the Office of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs, WCC 3085.

George Leisure Award

This prize is given in honor of George S. Leisure, LL.B. 1917, by his law partner David Teitelbaum, LL.B. 1929. A sum of $3,500 is awarded annually for excellence in advocacy to the student judged the best oralist in the Ames Moot Court Competition final round.

Frank S. Righeimer, Jr. Student Prize for Citizenship

Established in memory of Frank S. Righeimer, Jr. ’32, the Righeimer Prize is a monetary prize and is awarded annually to a graduating student to recognize exceptional citizenship within the Law School community. Nominations can be made by graduating students as well as by members of the faculty and staff. For further information, please contact the Dean of Students Office.

William J. Stuntz Award

Established in memory of William J. Stuntz, the Stuntz Award, recognizes the graduating student who, in his or her time at Harvard Law School, has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to justice, respect for human dignity, and compassion.

David Westfall Memorial Award

The David Westfall Memorial Award for Student Citizenship is named in honor of Prof. David Westfall who taught at Harvard Law School for more than fifty years. Near the end of his career, he volunteered to serve as an inaugural Faculty Leader for a First Year section and enjoyed terrific popularity in this role until his death in 2006. The Westfall Award is awarded annually to one graduating student to recognize contributions to creating community within the first-year section and class.

Boykin C. Wright Memorial Fund

This fund was established in memory of Boykin C. Wright, LL.B. 1914, by his law partners in the firm then known as Shearman & Sterling & Wright. The income is used to provide prizes for the winning and losing teams in the Ames Moot Court Competition final round.