Skip to content

Since 2005, Raoul Berger-Mark DeWolfe Howe Legal History Fellows have established careers in the legal academy, primarily in the United States.  Past fellows and their current positions are listed below.

There is no Berger-Howe Fellow during the 2023-24 academic year.

Jesse James2022-20232023-2024 Fellow
Institute for Ideas & Imagination
Columbia University
Jamie Grischkan2020-2021Associate Professor
Arizona State University, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Lael Weinberger2019-2020Non-resident Fellow, Constitutional Law Center
Stanford University
William P. Sullivan2018-2019Associate
Three Crowns
Marie-Amelie George2017-2018Associate Professor of Law
Wake Forest School of Law
Nikolas Bowie2016-2017Louis D. Brandeis Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Adam Lebovitz2015-2016WYNG Research Fellow
University of Cambridge
Maeve Glass2014-2015Associate Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
Sara Mayeux2013-2014Associate Professor of Law and Associate Professor of History
Vanderbilt Law School
Peter C. Pihos2012-2013Assistant Professor of History
Western Washington University
Sam Erman2011-2012Professor of Law
University of Michigan Law School
Jedidiah Kroncke2010-2011Associate Professor
Faculty of Law, The University of Hong Kong
Deborah Dinner2009-2010Professor of Law
Cornell Law School
Kara Swanson2008-2009Professor of Law and Affiliate Professor of History
Northeastern University School of Law
Cynthia Nicoletti2007-2008Professor of Law and Professor of History
University of Virginia School of Law
R. Owen Williams2007-2008Author
Diana I. Williams2006-2007
Daniel I. Sharfstein2005-2006Dick and Martha Lansden Chair in Law and Professor of History
Vanderbilt Law School

Learn more about the Raoul Berger-Mark DeWolfe Howe Legal History Fellowship