2023-2024 Harvard Law School Student Writing Prize Winners

Addison L	Brown Prize
-----------	-------------

 Austin Fullmer, J.D. 2024 for "Of Duty and Distress: Addressing Sea Slavery through the Duty to Render Assistance"

Animal Law & Policy Program Prize

• Shashank Vura, J.D. 2024 for "Living Ancestral Beings: Ecological Lessons from First Law and Sawfish"

Victor Brudney Prize

- Anmar Al Ghadhanfari, LL.M. 2024 for "Twenty Years of Data on the Information Covenant and the Bringdown Condition in M&A Agreements"
- Leeor Ofer, S.J.D. for "Granting Favors: Insider-Driven Corporate Philanthropy"

Roger Fisher and Frank E.A. Sander Prize

 Nicolas Parra, S.J.D. for "A Road Not Taken in Alternative Dispute Resolution: Mary Parker Follett and the Emergence of Proto-ADR"

Yong K. Kim '95 Memorial Prize

- Chun Wing Cheung, LL.M. 2024 for "The Continued Experimentation with the Implementation of the 'One Country, Two Systems': An Analysis of the Extraterritoriality of the Hong Kong National Security Law"
- Monica Wang, J.D. 2024 for "De-Risking U.S.-China Climate Collaboration: The Impact of Enhanced CFIUS Review on Chinese Investment in U.S. Climate Tech"

John Gallup Laylin Prize

 Hannah Sweeney, J.D. 2024 for "Gender Equality and State Responsibility: The Discriminatory Treatment of CEDAW"

Harvard Law School Center on the Legal Profession Paper Prize

 Noah Eckberg, J.D. 2024 for "Death by 1,000 Pages: The Origins, Entrenching Forces, and Impacts of the 1L Workload"

LGBTQ+ Writing Prize

 Rachel Olick-Gibson, J.D. 2025 for "Gender-Affirming Care & Interstate Conflict: Tools for Combatting Territorial and Extraterritorial Enforcement"

Mancini Prize

• Tim Horvat, LL.M. 2024 for "Comparative Political Economy of Business Freedom in the United States and the European Union"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Bankruptcy

• Forrest Lin, J.D. 2024 for "Contractual Innovation and Market Response: The Evolving Dynamics of Liability Management in the Leveraged Loan Market"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Constitutional Law and Equal Justice Under Law

 Krista Stapleford, J.D. 2024 for "Recovering the Lost Meaning of the FTCA's 'Discretionary Function' Exception" Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Environmental Law

 Benjamin Rolsma, J.D. 2024 for "Environmental Law as Emergency: The Transformation of Federal Power Act § 202(c)"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Family Law

 Juan Infante, J.D. 2025 for "Mapping the Abortion Mosaic: A Dataset of State-Level Abortion Regulations in the Preand Post-Dobbs Era"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Intellectual Property

• Matthew Chun, J.D. 2024 for "Generative AI and the Death of Drug Repurposing"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Law and Technology

 Maarten Herbosch, LL.M. 2024 for "Liability for Artificial Intelligence: Caught Between Super-human Expectations and Human Error Rates?"

Irving Oberman Memorial Prize: Legal History Julia Hammond, J.D. 2024 for "From Comprehensive Planning to Piecemeal Zoning Reform: A Story of Land Use in Connecticut"

John M. Olin Prize in Law and Economics

 Samuel Blackman, LL.M. 2024 for "Taxation and Risk-Taking: Solving New Zealand's Foreign Investment Fund Liquidity Problem with a Retrospective Capital Gains Tax"

 Zhiwen Chen, J.D. 2024 for "Income Taxation and Relative Income Concerns: Equity Implications"

Program on Biblical Law and Christian Legal Studies Writing Award: Christianity and the Law Brandon Sharp, J.D. 2024 for "Service in Two Cities: Biblical Guideposts for a Christian Lawyer Serving in Government"

Program on Biblical Law and Christian Legal Studies Writing Award: Jewish Law and Society • Jonathan Frieden, J.D. 2024 for "From Passover to Property Rights: Reframing the Ownership Question in the Shareholder/Stakeholder Debate"

Program in Islamic Law Writing Prize Hacer Berra Akcan, J.D. 2024 for "Text, Image, and Ideology: Depictions of Law Throughout Indian Art History"

Writing Prize of the Program on Law and Society in the Muslim World Lorenz Dantes, LL.M. 2024 for "Using Islamic Law Principles as a Basis for a Migrant Worker's Right to Diplomatic Asylum in 'Kafala' Countries"

Sidney I. Roberts Prize Fund

 Alexander Johnson, J.D. 2024 for "Hybrid Rights and Taxation"

Klemens von Klemperer Prize Laila Ujayli, J.D. 2024 for "The Sleepy Lagoon Defense Committee"

Stephen L. Werner Prize

• Avery Farmer, J.D. 2024 for "Deceiving the Disadvantaged"