Your browser does not support JavaScript

Although Zoom is a useful tool for open collaboration between faculty, staff and students, there are times when you may want to limit access to a meeting.

Managing Access to Zoom Meetings

When scheduling a meeting in Zoom, you can enable the following privacy features to limit access and reduce the likelihood of an unexpected guest joining your meeting. These options must be configured in the Harvard Zoom Portal when scheduling a new meeting:

Require a Meeting Password

When you require a password, meeting participants will be prompted to type this password when they join. Since participants dialing-in from their phone must also type a password, ITS recommends using a numerical code rather than a text password. For instructions to add a password, click here.

Add a Waiting Room

The “Waiting Room” privacy feature will alert the meeting host and any co-hosts whenever a participant joins the meeting, and require that the host or co-host grant them access. When participants attempt to join the meeting, they will see a message that they have been placed in a waiting room, until the host accepts their request to join. For instructions to add a waiting room, click here.

Lock a Zoom Meeting

If you are hosting a meeting and know that everyone you invited has already joined, you have the option to “lock” the meeting to prevent unexpected guests. To learn more about this features, click here.

Only Click and Accept Official Zoom Links

As always, click wisely. Watch out for fake Zoom meetings. All official Harvard zoom calls will have “Harvard.zoom” in the URL. For external meetings, be sure to verify and validate the meeting’s legitimacy from the organizer.

For additional information on using Zoom, visit the IT Knowledgebase on the Services Hub. (HarvardKey login required).