Your browser does not support JavaScript

Dear Members of the HLS Community,

Last summer, Dean Martha Minow appointed a Task Force on Academic Community and Student Engagement. I am grateful to Dean Minow for her leadership on the crucial issues raised in her charge. I have now received from Dean Minow the Task Force Report and an Addendum, both of which we share with you today. I join Dean Minow in thanking the Task Force’s chair (Professor Bruce H. Mann), its faculty members (Professors Susan Crawford, Mary Ann Glendon, Annette Gordon-Reed, Kristen Stilt, and Guhan Subramanian), its alumni members (Pamela Everhart ’90 and Danielle Gray ’03), and its student members (Cameron Clark JD ’18, Memme Onwudiwe JD ’19, Tshidiso Ramogale, LLM ’17, and Natalie Vernon JD ’17), for the enormous time, energy, and commitment they’ve shown over the past year in meeting with members of the community and in developing and debating proposals and recommendations to answer the vital questions posed by Dean Minow’s charge. We also thank all who contributed to the Task Force’s inquiry and deliberations.

I will begin in the days and weeks ahead to consult widely with members of this community about next steps. I am delighted that we will have the opportunity to exchange ideas and to work together in a spirit of collegiality and mutual respect to make our school the best it can be.

With best wishes for the remaining days of summer and for a school year of new opportunities for learning and engagement,

John F. Manning
Morgan and Helen Chu Dean and Professor of Law
Harvard Law School