Your browser does not support JavaScript

The Klemens von Klemperer Prize Fund was established in 2013 by the von Klemperer family as a tribute to the late Professor Klemens von Klemperer and his many decades of dedication to teaching and motivating students. The fund provides support for the Klemens von Klemperer Prize, to be awarded annually to the HLS student who writes the most compelling essay on the subject of Resistance. A broad range of issues and ideas are encouraged, including interdisciplinary links to subjects outside the strict study of the law such as History, Literature, Religion, Art, Philosophy, and Technology as well as issues of Resistance as they arise in other countries or involve international relations.

2020 Recipient

Delphine Rodrik, J.D. 2020, “Comparing the Criminalization of Migrant Solidarity in Europe and the US”

Past Recipients

2019 Recipient

Benjamin Miller-Gootnick, J.D. 2021, “Boundaries of the Federal Vacancies Reform Act”

2018 Recipient

Adrienne Spiegel, J.D. 2019, “After Charlottesville, Dissent Comes Home to Roost: Recharacterizing the ACLU Employees’ Ersatz Critique of Rights as a Strategic Attempt to Shift the ACLU’s Mission”

2017 Recipients

Esamadeen Ibrahim, J.D. 2017, “Civic Federalism as a Defense Mechanism in the Trump Era”

Nathan MacKenzie, J.D. 2017, “Offensive and Unconstitutional Legal and Political Strategies for Defeating President Trump’s Muslim Immigration Ban”

2016 Recipient

Louis Fisher, J.D. 2016, “Civil Disobedience as Legal Ethics: Cause Lawyers and the Tension Between Morality and ‘Lawyering Law'”