Past event held: October 27-28, 2007

Native American Alumni Celebration

Friday, October 26, 2007

Luncheon with Reunion Classes

Welcome to the Celebration
Kristen Carpenter ’98, NAAC Chair

Steven Emery ’89

Indian Law in Tribal Communities: Views from Indian Country

  • Steven Emery ’89, In-House Counsel, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
  • Henry Sockbeson ’76, Office of Tribal Counsel, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation
  • Heather Thompson ’00, Director of Governmental Affairs, National Congress of American Indians
  • Moderator: Josh (JD) Anders ’07, Past President, HLS NALSA

Keynote Address
Susan Williams ’81, Partner, Williams & Works

Emerging Scholars in Indian Law: Paper Presentations

  • Kristen Carpenter ’98, Asst. Professor, University of Denver Sturm College of Law
  • Gavin Clarkson ’02, Asst. Professor, University of Michigan Law School & School of Information
  • Angela Riley ’98, Assoc. Professor, Southwestern University Law School
  • Wenona Singel ’99, Asst. Professor, Michigan State University Law School
  • Commentator: Lorie Graham LLM ’95, Professor, Suffolk University Law School

Native American Alumni Committee Meeting

Cocktail and Light Supper with Reunion Classes

Saturday, October 27, 2007

Continental Breakfast

Welcome & Introduction
Jennifer Weddle ’00, CNAA Co-chair

Keynote Address
Robert Odawi Porter ’89, Syracuse University Law School, Professor of Law; Dean’s Research Scholar of Indigenous Nations Law; Director, The Center for Indigenous Law, Governance & Citizenship; Senior Associate Dean for Research

A Conversation with Dean Elena Kagan

Native American Alumni Luncheon

Carmen Lopez, Ed.M ’00, Director, Harvard University Native American Program

Diversity and Indians at HLS
Lawrence Baca ’76, Deputy Director, Office of Tribal Justice, U.S. Department of Justice

Special Recognition of Early Native American Graduates

  • Woodrow Sneed ’64
  • Martin Seneca ’71

Panel: Hot Topics in Indian Country

  • Joseph William Singer ’81, Bussey Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
  • Gloria Valencia-Weber ’86, Professor of Law, University of New Mexico School of Law
  • Gerald Torres ’06, Bryant Smith Chair in Law, University of Texas School of Law (Oneida Indian Nation Visiting Professor)
  • Moderator: Steven McSloy ’88, Co-chair, Native American Practice, Hughes, Hubbard & Reed

Panel: HLS and Career Paths of Native American Alumni: How We Impact Indian Country

  • Greg Bigler ’85, Justice, Mashantucket Pequot Court of Appeals
  • Mark Van Norman ’86, Executive Director, National Indian Gaming Association
  • Jennifer Weddle ’00, Associate, Holland & Hart LLP
  • Moderator: Ethel Branch ’08, President, HLS NALSA


Native American Gala Dinner

Greetings and Introduction
Robert C. Clark ’72, Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor and Austin Wakeman Scott Professor of Law

Keynote Address & Presentation of Oneida Gift
Ray Halbritter ’90, Nation Representative, Oneida Indian Nation; “The Oneida Indian Nation Chair in Federal Indian Law”

Elena Kagan ’86, Dean of the Faculty of Law and Charles Hamilton Houston Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

NAAC Honoring Presentation

Sunday, October 28, 2007

Farewell Brunch with Reunion Classes